Embracing the writer in me

This year I decided that I want to put a big focus on doing music. But it doesn’t change the fact that I’m a writer. I always have been drawn to writing. In 2009, I did NaNoWriMo for the first time and wrote a novel called “Dead End 94”. I was pretty happy with it (except for the fact that only my girlfriend read it). It was a little strange last year that I didn’t really do any writing. I thought about it and planned but I never really forged into any writing. It was even stranger because it was a year in which my music wasn’t going anywhere either (see earlier blogs about my “musical depression”). So, now I find myself on the precipice of a two year stint in which the writer side of me is going to be put on the backburner. But, here’s the thing- it doesn’t want to be silent. There’s some part of me that wants to write. I think I need to find some way to satiate it and still be able to experiment. I find myself in a dilemma there. I could leave all the writing urges alone and dive headlong into experimentation. Or I could try writing something more like a concept album (which was the original reason for this entire blog in the first place) but I could get bogged down trying to keep the story together and I’ll lose the experimental stuff. Or I find some kind of happy medium. Artists tell stories in their art all the time and can do it in wildly experimental ways- why can’t I? Then again, I still haven’t stepped a baby toe into those waters yet. So much to think about…

Leave a Reply

