Dirt and Grit

It began with hearing We versus the Shark cover “Dirt in the Ground”. That’s what started my recent love of Tom Waits. I have always had a like for his work but now I have really been enjoying it. If you’ve heard my cover of Neneh Cherry’s “Buffalo Stance”, it’s pretty clear that I was trying to emulate that dirty sound. Yesterday, I added some Johnny Cash into my listening mix. Now I find my headspace in a very interesting place. On one hand, it’s been a lot of Sonic Youth and Shellac (funny because they have been feuding), while I have been listening to Waits and Cash. So, today I wrote a new song called “Get Low” and in my head, I envision some minimalist guitars and dirty bluesy vocals. Funny thing is that I have no control on that aspect because I have passed it on the Berkeley Social Scene. Let’s see where the song ends up. That’s always one of the interesting parts of being a lyricist.

Leave a Reply

