How I Fought The Block

The other day I wrote about the music block I was having. A few people passed on ideas on how to deal with it. I ended up deciding to deal with it head-on. Sunday, I sat down with my guitar & tried to make a new song. At first, it was my same old block. I watched the WWE PPV & the Fred movie. I was avoiding playing. It took me a while but I shook off that hesitant feeling & just played. I chose some odd new chords & made a song called “Woebegone”. I had a melody, a chorus & a verse (all about dealing with the block) then I got tired & went to sleep. The story could’ve ended there. But tonight, Jill (my gf) & I had nothing to do so we decided to go to Sidewalk’s Open Stage again. In wild abandon, I decided to play the song. I wrote 2 more verses & went for it, without having ever played it. I figured if I continue to hesitate, I’ll never get started again. Was it a perfect performance? Heck no (pretty good for a first time though) but it made me wanna play more. Hooray for progress.

4 Responses to “How I Fought The Block”

  1. You watched the Fred movie? Dude even if you did, you shouldn’t admit it. Next time pick something a little more manly like “Brokeback Mountain”. :p

    Kidding, but I’m glad you worked through your writers block.

    • My kids wanna watch it. I figured it’s my parental duty to scope it out beforehand. Plus Roddy Bottum of Faith No More did the music. If it’s good enough for FNM, it’s good enough for me. 🙂

  2. Congrats on jumping in, I think that’s really the best way!

  3. noah mclaughlin Says:

    *big thumbs up* Do we get an .mp3 some time?

Leave a Reply

