Gatecrasher Diary: 8-24-10

It’s a landmark day, however small it is. Today, I handed my first lyric to Chris, Ken and John for Gatecrasher. Over the last month, this has all been conceptual. Now, the project is beginning to move forward.

I feel good about this song. It’s the beginning of Gatecrasher’s tale. I know that I’m going to have to do some prose to go along with the album to make it really cohesive but I like the way the story is coming along through the songs. The songs are a little abstract and that’s something I’ve struggled with in the past. I like filling in all the blanks for the reader/listener and if you take just the songs on their own, you may not get the entire story and I’m fine with that. That’s why I’ll write some prose and do some videos. Bit by bit, the story will unfold until you get an entire piece. It’s not the usual way that I work and I couldn’t be happier for that fact. Tomorrow, I hope to give the band another lyric while I work on the other 8. If I can get into a groove, I know I can churn the words out. I just have to get into that groove. Finding the creative trigger can be the hardest part sometimes.

Leave a Reply

